Universidad Europea Professor Recognized with the 2015 Alvar Aalto Medal

Fuensanta Nieto, architect and professor at Universidad Europea, and architect Enrique Sobejano were recognized in early February with the 2015 Alvar Aalto Medal at a special ceremony in Helsinki, Finland. Nieto and Sobejano founded the Nieto Sobejano Arquitectos firm and are the first Spaniards to win this international recognition.

The Alvar Aalto Medal is an international award that was established in 1967 in memory of the celebrated Finnish architect. It is delivered by the Finland Museum of Architecture, the Society of Architects of Finland, the Alvar Aalto Foundation and the City of Helsinki. The award recognizes professional accomplishments of architects, not just a building or project. Nieto and Sobejano also won the Aga Khan Architecture Award in 2010.

The Alvar Aalto Medal jury is composed of recognized international architects, including: Rainer Mahlamäki, Simo Freese, Wessel de Jonge and Dorte Mandrup–Poulsen. Other winners of the medal have included: James Stirling, Jorn Utzon, Tadao Ando, Álvaro Siza, Glenn Murcutt, Steven Holl and Paulo David, who won the award in 2012.