Universidad de Las Américas and Universidad Andrés Bello Host Meeting on Veterinary Medicine in Chile

The meeting included rectors from leading Chilean universities, the minister of health, the mayor of Santiago, the sub-secretary of agriculture and many other academic and government leaders.

“We are very interested in learning more about best practices from all the schools of veterinary sciences in Chile and also sharing what we have learned about developing leading professionals that are focused on local communities,” said Rector Pilar Armanet at the opening of the “Days of Reflection on the current and future state of veterinary medicine in Chile”. Government leaders at the meeting included Minister of Health, Helia Molina; Sub-secretary of Agriculture, Claudio Ternicier; Mayor of Santiago, Carolina Tohá and President of the School of Veterinary Medicine, Eduardo Álvarez, among many others. Academic leaders included Rector Pedro Uribe from Universidad Andrés Bello, Rector Ennio Vivaldi from Universidad de Chile and deans and directors from Chile’s leading public and private institutions were also in attendance.

The sessions were organized to analyze, debate and reflect on the veterinary profession and the trends in the field of study to better understand how developments in teaching are impacting the real world. Pilar Armanet highlighted that for UDLA, the development of professional ethics and a focus on giving back to the community are fundamental principles that students receive from the university. 

The first day of the meeting took place at UDLA’s Santiago Centro Campus and the second day took place at Universidad Andrés Bello. The meeting included presentations and panels focused on inoculations, nutrition, animal well-being, conservation, small animal health, transmittable illnesses and veterinary education.

The meeting included 11 of the 13 universities that deliver veterinary medicine programs in Chile: Universidad Andrés Bello, Universidad Viña del Mar, Universidad de Concepción, Universidad Católica de Temuco, Universidad Iberoamericana de Ciencias y Tecnología, Universidad de Chile, Universidad Pedro de Valdivia, Universidad Mayor, Universidad Austral de Chile, Universidad Santo Tomás and UDLA.