Student athletes recognized with the Universidad del Valle de México Sport Award

The gym at Campus Chapultepec named in honor of Aída Román


UVM Recognizes Student Athletes

Universidad del Valle de Mexico hosted the UVM Sport Awards to recognize the efforts of coaches and athletes from UVM who participated in the Olympic Games in London in 2012 at the Sports and Cultural Center at UVM’s Chapultepec Campus.

A total of 15 athletes and four coaches were honored by UVM’s leaders, including Dieter Holtz, CEO of UVM; José Ortega Martínez, executive chairman of UVM; Prof. Claudia Sanchez, Dean of Campus Chapultepec; Mr. Alfonso Marín Jiménez, Vice Chancellor of Student Services; and Dr. Manuel Aceves, Institutional Director of Sports.

Dieter Holtz was pleased to recognize and congratulate the athletic talent that resides in Mexico, emphasizing that UVM has always been focused on the success of their students and taking care to ensure that student athletes complete their studies, as they need to be successful in both sports and academics to reach their full potential. "If Mexico had more young like you, this country would be different, it would be disciplined, it would be responsible, it would be respectful and successful in every way," he said during his speech.

One of the special guests who spoke on behalf of the recognized student athletes was William Perez, a gold medalist in Tae Kwon Do from the 2008 Summer Olympics in Beijing and recipient of the Golden Lynx UVM Sports Award. "We need to always remember that we Mexicans are successful too," he said.

In the first part of the ceremony plaques of appreciation were awarded to the following UVM athletes and coaches who participated in London 2012:


Student Athletes

 1. Aída Nabila Román Arroyo Archery 

San Rafael

2. Juan René Serrano Gutiérrez  Archery  San Rafael 
3. Luis Eduardo Vélez Sánchez  Archery  Chapultepec 
4. Erick Osornio Núñez  Tae Kwon Do  San Rafael 
5. Vanessa Zambotti Barretto   Judo  Tlalpan 
6. Jéssica Saraí Avilés Hernández  Swimming   Tlalpan 
7. Victoria Eugenia Montero Enríquez Badminton Toluca
8. Arantxa Elízabeth Chávez Muñoz Diving Zapopan
9. Claudia Rivas Vega Triathlon Zapopan
10. Janeth Alegría Peña Tae Kwon Do Querétaro
11. Nicolás Alejandro Pizarro Suárez Martínez Equitación Lomas Verdes
12. Iván Alejandro García Navarro Diving Zapopan
13. Germán Saúl Sánchez Sánchez Diving Zapopan
14. Luz Mercedes Acosta Valdez Weightlifting Tlalpan
15. Alejandra Orozco Loza Diving Guadalajara Norte


  1. José Luis Onofre - Chief Trainer of the National Tae Kwon Do Team and Institutional Coordinator of Tae Kwon Do at UVM.
  2. José Peláez Ampudia – Trainer of the National Swim Team and Swin Trainer at Tlalpan
  3. Brenda Gallegos Trujillo – Psychologist for the National Archery Team and Professor of Psychology at Campus San Rafael.
  4. José Ramón Solorio Díaz – Director of Selection in Tae Kwon Do for the Mexican Federation and Tae Kwon Do Trainer at Campus Chapultepec.

After sharing his appreciation with each of the assembled student-athletes and trainers, Mr. Holtz unveiled a plaque in the main gym of UVM’s Campus Chapultepec, which from now on will be called "Roman Aida", in honor of the silver medalist in London. "Thanks to UVM, I learned to break paradigms in my sport," she said.

Also on the plate were the names of Juan Rene Serrano and Luis Eduardo Velez in recognition of their outstanding contributions in Archery at the 2012 Summer Olympic Games.

This article was originally written in Spanish and has been translated into English to be shared on the Laureate International Universities website.