Dr. Dimitrios Vlachopoulos and Dr. José Martí-Parreño Honored with the 2015 David A. Wilson Award for Excellence in Teaching and Learning


Laureate's Award Winning Jobs Site

At the 2015 Laureate Leadership Summit held in Miami, FL, Dr. Dimitrios Vlachopoulos from European University Cyprus and Dr. José Martí-Parreño from Universidad Europea de Valencia were honored with the 2015 David A. Wilson Award for Excellence in Teaching and Learning. Dr. Vlachopoulos and Dr. Martí-Parreño will each receive a $50,000 research grant to conduct the research described in their winning proposals.

  • Dr. Vlachopoulos’ research project is titled “(e-QADeSHE) e-learning Quality Assurance Design Standards in Higher Education: A case study at the Laureate International Universities Network” and will focus on describing and evaluating quality assurance e-learning design standards in order to provide a measure of quality for the online courses. It will look at a number of different standards and how they are applied at different Laureate institutions that are developing and delivering online higher education programs.

  • Dr. Martí-Parreño’s research project is titled “Gamification and Education Innovation: The Role of Emotions and Technology in Higher Education Learning Programs.” The project will focus on testing the effectiveness of a gamified learning program. The study will use qualitative and quantitative analyses to learn more about how students learn under traditional, audiovisual and gamified learning environments as well as their perception of these different learning environments.

The David A. Wilson Award for Excellence in Teaching and Learning was created in 2007 by Laureate's founder, Chairman and CEO, Douglas L. Becker, to honor Dr. David A. Wilson, a former member of Laureate Education, Inc.'s board of directors, to encourage faculty-led research on the topics of teaching and learning.

The 19 participating institutions in the Laureate network conducted a local selection process to review and choose their top proposal for submission to the Global Selection Committee, which includes Dr. David Wilson, committee chair Dr. Manuel Krauskopf, Dr. Germán Ramírez, Dr. Denise DeZolt, Dr. Águeda Benito and Dr. Bernardo González Arechiga.