Here for Good Awards

Here for Good Award

The Here for Good Awards were born out Laureate’s desire to recognize exceptional examples throughout our network of the Here for Good Spirit in action, celebrating those connected to our organization, whether student, graduate, faculty or staff, who are committed to creating positive social impact in their community and world.

Since 2012, the Awards have recognized a diverse group of change makers connected to our network. Stories of past winners and honorees can be found here.

2018 winners of the Here for Good Awards:

Melanie Tran

Melanie Tran, a Digital Media student at Torrens University Australia, is the 2018 Here for Good Award winner in the student/graduate category. Every day, Melanie fights to make the world more inclusive and accessible for the one billion people who live with a disability. She is the co-founder and Lead UX Designer at AbilityMate, which uses 3D printing to create custom-made orthoses. In addition, she is the UX Designer at Hireup, an online platform for people with disability to find, hire, and manage support workers, which currently has over 27,000 users. Her leadership has helped both ventures achieve significant impact and scale. 

Porfessor Mário Vicente Guimarães and Professor Elaine Peixoto

Porfessor Mário Vicente Guimarães and Professor Elaine Peixoto from Universidade Anhembi Morumbi (UAM) are the winners of the 2018 Here for Good Award in the faculty/staff category. The pair of professors started Medicos de Rua, an initiative that brings medical care and other services directly to homeless people living in São Paulo. Every month, they take a team of nearly 40 students to the streets of São Paulo to provide check-ups and medical services to the city’s homeless population. The team has treated close to 5,800 people who do not have the resources to visit traditional clinics.

Past winners of the Here for Good Awards:

Fatima Casa Nova and Alessandra Bahia

Fatima Casa Nova and Alessandra Bahia from Centro Universitário Dos Guararapes (UniFG) in Recife, Brazil, are the winners in the faculty/staff category in 2017. The pair organized a Congress of Microcephaly at the university to bring together medical professionals, government officials, and other community actors to launch an initial response to the Zika outbreak and rise in microcephaly cases. The two professors then started a special program at the FG Community Clinic to provide holistic care to families with children born with microcephaly. The clinic has served more than 50 families affected by Zika, involving over 600 students.

Carolina Zuheill Rosales

Carolina Zuheill Rosales, a master’s student at the Universidad del Valle de México (UVM) and a medical doctor by training was the winner of the 2017 award in the student/graduate category. Carolina provides healthcare to the most isolated populations in Mexico through mobile medical clinics run by her non-profit, GUIMEDIC. She mobilizes over 1,200 volunteers a year to run clinics in five Mexican states, serving more than 55,000 people in 2016 alone. Zuheill has also been recognized as a local YouthActionNet fellow and Laureate Global Fellow for her social entrepreneurial venture. 

Ganesh Muren

Ganesh Muran is an engineering student at INTI International University & Colleges Malaysia and winner of the 2016 Here for Good Award. He developed a solar-powered water purification system that is being used across Malaysia, where over a quarter of the population lacks access to safe drinking water. His invention allows rural residents to have a safe source of water for drinking and cooking, avoiding water-borne diseases that are a major cause of death in the country. Ganesh has received investment and support from major players in Malaysia and abroad and hopes to impact over 10,000 households by the end of 2018.

The winner of the 2015 Here for Good Award: Lebo Sekhotla

Lebo Sekhotla, a graduate of Monash South Africa (MSA), was the winner of the 2015 Here for Good awards for co-founding “Tomorrow Starts Today.” This program is a Saturday school that aims to show 9th grade students the power of education, while giving them the tools that will empower them to become world changers through mentorship and access to university experiences. Lebo sees access to quality education as being the critical driving force that grants individuals opportunities to be successful, and with this insight, she works to change the mindsets of students who are not otherwise encouraged to pursue higher education.

The winners of the 2014 Here for Good Award: Ana Loayza and Mauricio Gilbonio

Ana Loayza and Mauricio Gilbonio, graduates of Universidad Peruana de Ciencias Aplicadas, won the third Here For Good awards for creating Project Puno, an initiative that combines several disciplines—architecture, environmental sustainability, financial education and history—to boldly rethink what a community can be. Through Project Puno, Loayza and Gilbonio are building homes that are designed to protect the villagers of Peru's Puno region from the harsh snow, winds, and sub-zero temperatures that leave thousands sick or dead each year. The homes cost about USD $1,000 each and are made of traditional adobe brick, which helps contain heat. Greenhouses are attached to the living quarters, providing heat— and space for residents to grow fresh fruits and vegetables year-round.

The winner of the 2013 Here for Good Award: Patsy Pamela Ordóñez Arellano

Patsy Pamela Ordóñez Arellano, a graduate of Universidad del Valle de México, won the 2013 Here for Good Awards for her work in establishing the National Foundation of Cervical Cancer (Fundación Nacional para el Cáncer Cérvico Uterino A.C.). Her foundation educates citizens about cervical cancer and promotes early detection and prevention through events in schools and organizations in Mexico City, the Federal District and Puebla. The foundation has organized HPV vaccination campaigns aimed at women between the ages of 9 and 55 and men between the ages of 9 and 26. The foundation operates a clinic, staffed by volunteer doctors, to provide gynecological services to women who otherwise could not afford them.

The winners of the 2012 Here for Good Award: Ingrid Baier and Ignacio Silva

Ingrid Baier and Ignacio Silva, graduates of Universidad Andres Bello (UNAB) in Chile, won the 2012 Here for Good Awards for dedicating a year of their lives to providing medical services to the people of Burundi, an African country that has been ravaged by civil war and political unrest for more than 20 years. Drs. Baier and Silva have returned to Chile where they are serving at a hospital in San Antonio. They have also joined UNAB’s academic staff and are working with interns from the institution.