European University Cyprus signs Magna Charta Universitatum


EUC logo

European University Cyprus (EUC), reaffirming its commitment to the core values of university education and academic principles worldwide, has been approved by the Magna Charta Observatory Council to become a signatory university to the Magna Charta Universitatum.

The Magna Charta Universitatum - jointly created by the European University Association (EUA) and the University of Bologna -  includes 805 signatory universities from 85 countries, including prestigious and high ranking universities such as  Université Paris I Panthéon Sorbonne, University of Toronto, University of Cambridge, University of Oxford, Cornell University, Johns Hopkins University, University of Chicago, Universität Zürich, Universität Hamburg, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität in München, Aarhus University, University of Copenhagen, Universität Wien, Universiteit van Amsterdam etch. However, European University Cyprus is the only private university signatory from Cyprus.

Being accepted as a signatory university constitutes a remarkable distinction for EUC, as the charter codifies the principle of academic freedom and institutional autonomy, providing guidelines for good governance of universities. As universities have become more important to society than ever, and at a time when they are required to be the bastions of independent thought, education and research, becoming a signatory is both a great honor and a demonstration of EUC's commitment to quality higher education.